Scholarships & Awards

camel caravan



The Rosenberg Scholarship

The E. Michael Rosser family established this scholarship to honor Dr. Harry Rosenberg, who impacted the lives of thousands of students in his courses in Medieval and Ancient History at CSU. He was a well-respected scholar, mentor, and friend. View Dr. Harry Rosenberg’s obituary. 


Mark Anthony Klein Scholarship

In honor of Mark Anthony Klein, a CSU History student, this scholarship acknowledges intellectual commitment to historical study, community service, environmental activities, zest for life, and a positive influence on others.


Rosser Family Scholarship

In honor of pioneering women, Anne R. Rosser and Mary Patricia Holvey, this scholarship encourages the study of history west of the 100th meridian, preservation of our heritage and traditions, and communication of the frontier experience to the general public.


This scholarship is available for any undergraduate or graduate History major in good academic standing.

Students must demonstrate financial need and must engage in on-campus or off-campus activities. Preference is given to students studying Western American History, Historic Preservation, and Public Policy. Up to three Rosenberg Scholarships are awarded per year.


This scholarship is available to junior or senior History majors with at least a 3.3 GPA.

Students must be active in the History department. This can include participating in Phi Alpha Theta, pursuing a work-study position, or serving as an undergraduate teaching assistant.


This scholarship is available to undergraduate or graduate History majors with a 3.0 GPA in their History classes.

Students must demonstrate financial need. Preference is given to students with demonstrated interest in Western American History, Historic Preservation, or Environmental History.


Each year the History Department recognizes the hard work and achievements of undergraduate and graduate students. Students do not have to apply for these awards. Recipients are selected by History Department faculty. The awards are presented at the annual awards banquet each Spring.


The Meyer Nathan Memorial Award

In honor of Dr. Meyer Nathan, this award recognizes political awareness, compassion, and service on campus and in the community. The award is available to any junior or senior undergraduate in the College of Liberal Arts with a demonstrated interest in History.


The Norman Furniss and Sidney Heitman Award

In honor of Dr. Norman Furniss and Dr. Sidney Heitman, these awards recognize outstanding academic achievement. The Furniss Award recognizes a senior History major and the Heitman Award recognizes a junior History major.


Alumni Awards for Graduate Students

These awards recognize the achievements of History Department graduate students. Up to four awards are given each year.


The Incoming Graduate Award

This award recognizes a first-year graduate student. Preference is given to students from under-represented groups.


If you have questions about the History Department Scholarships and Awards, contact our Assistant Chair.

If you have questions about the scholarships listed above, contact our Scholarship and Student Program Coordinator.

Ready to Apply

Complete the Colorado State University Scholarship Application through RamWeb. The application is available October 1 to May 1.

Financial Resources

Learn more about the financial resources available to College of Liberal Arts students.